





Eppes Professors

The Eppes professorship is named after Francis Eppes, the grandson of President Thomas Jefferson, who played a vital role in convincing the Florida Legislature to locate The Seminary West of the Suwannee, FSU's institutional predecessor, in Tallahassee. Over and above professors holding the university's Eminent Scholar chairs, the Francis Eppes Professorship is the ultimate honor, given to a few professors who are ranked at the very top of their field, who portray genuine leadership qualities and who are committed role models for their students. The Eppes professors are often deemed "Superprofessors" because of the high quality of their character, vision and intellect.

Eppes Professor	<u>Department</u>	Date of Designation
Charles R. McClure	Information Studies	August 9, 1999
Ellen T. Zwilich	Music	August 9, 1999
Gerald R. Ferris	Management	August 8, 2000
Leonard L. LaPointe	Communication Disorders	August 8, 2000
Robert O. Butler	English/Creative Writing	August 8, 2000
Suzanne Farrell	Dance	August 8, 2000
David L. Swofford	Biological Science	August 8, 2001
John T. Scholz	Political Science	August 8, 2001
Max D. Gunzburger	Mathematics	August 8, 2002
Roy F. Baumeister	Psychology	December 23, 2002
Philip Froelich	Oceanography	August 8, 2003
Harold M. Kroto	Chemistry & Biochemistry	October 1, 2004

Daisy Parker Flory Alumni Professors

The award was established in 1985 to honor Dr. Daisy Parker Flory, Professor of Political Science, who was Dean of the Faculties from 1973 until her retirement in 1984. The award is given to recognize and honor faculty who have contributed to the University through their exemplary and sustained service to students, faculty, discipline/profession, and community.

Daisy Parker Flory Alumni Professors	Department	Date of Designation
Clifford K. Madsen	Music	1985-86
Fred Standley	English	1985-86
Patricia Y. Martin	Sociology	1989-90

McKenzie Professors

These awards, funded by Sarah P. and W. Guy McKenzie, Sr. (formally funded by the FSU Foundation), honor full-time, tenured professors who exemplify high standards of performance in teaching, research and service.

McKenzie Professors	Department	Date of Designation
Janet G. Burroway	English	1987
Thomas R. Dye	Government; Policy Sciences	1987
Jaako Hintikka	Philosophy	1987
Louis N. Howard	Mathematics	1987
William O. Winstead	Music	1987
Karen J. Berkley	Psychology	1989
David K. Kirby	English	1989
Christopher Hunter	Mathematics	1991



