Faculty Characteristics and Citations

- Of 1,917.4 filled FTE faculty positions (including College of Medicine), 26.3 percent hold the rank of Professor, 18.4 percent are Associate Professors, 16.0 percent are Assistant Professors, and 39.3 percent are other faculty.
- A total of 2,409 persons are appointed to either full-time or part-time positions on a faculty classification; 42.5 percent are female.
- 92 percent of instructional faculty hold a doctoral, professional, or terminal degree.
- The median age for tenured faculty is 56; the eldest of these is 82, the youngest is 34. The median age for tenure-earning faculty is 37; the eldest of these is 76, the youngest is 26.
- 1,084 men and 722 women comprise Florida State University's full-time staff whose primary responsibility is instruction, research and/or public service. Minorities make up 21.0% of these 1,806 staff members. 74.6% are white and 4.4% are non-resident aliens.
- Ellen T. Zwilich (Music, 1983) and Robert Olen Butler (Fiction, 1993) are Pulitzer Prize winners on staff at Florida State University.

Members of the National Academy of Sciences to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Lloyd M. Beidler, Biological Science

Donald L. Caspar, Biological Science (Emeritus)

Paul A. M. Dirac, Physics

Zachary Fisk, Physics

Lev P. Gor'kov, Physics (currently on staff)

Laura Greene, Physics (currently on staff)

Louis N. Howard, Mathematics (Emeritus)

Michael Kasha, Chemistry

Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry

Robert Sanderson Mulliken, Chemical Physics

J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics (Emeritus)

Melvin E. Stern, Oceanography

J. Herbert Taylor, Biological Science

Members of the National Academy of Engineering to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

David Larbalestier, Superconducting Materials (currently on staff) Simon Ostrach, Engineering

Thomas Lipo, Engineering (currently on staff)

Members of the National Academy of Medicine to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Jill Quadagno, Gerontology (currently on staff)

Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Roy Baumeister, Psychology (currently on staff)

Lloyd M. Beidler, Biological Science

Donald L. Caspar, Biological Science (Emeritus)

Zachary Fisk, Physics

Alan Marshall, Chemistry (currently on staff)

Simon Ostrach, Engineering

J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics (Emeritus)

Melvin E. Stern, Oceanography

Louis N. Howard, Mathematics (Emeritus)

Joe Travis, Biological Science (currently on staff)

Frances James, Biological Science (Emeritus)

Ellen T. Zwilich, Music (currently on staff)

Michael Kasha, Chemistry Lev Gor'kov - Foreign Honorary, Physics (currently on staff)

Nobel Laureates to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Konrad E. Bloch, Human Sciences

James M. Buchanan, Economics

Paul A. M. Dirac, Physics

Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry

Robert Sanderson Mulliken, Chemical Physics

J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics (Emeritus)

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship Award Winners to Serve on Staff at Florida State University:

1950 - Michael Kasha	1980 - Ellen T. Zwilich	2003 - David Kirby
1955 - Raymond K. Sheline	1983 - Michael Ruse	2005 - Dale A. Olsen
1957 - Orville Goodwin Harrold, Jr.	1993 - Robert Olen Butler	2005 - Mark Wingate
1958 - François Bucher	1994 - Jill Quadagno	2009 - Jawole Willa Jo Zollar
1961 - Louis N. Howard	1994 - Donald L. D. Caspar	2010 - Barbara Hamby
1961 - Arthur Deshaies	1999 - Kathleen M. Erndl	2010 - Ladislav Kubik
1964 - Bruno Linder	2000 - Richard L. Greaves	2013 - Bryan Cuevas
1966 - J. Robert Schrieffer	2002 - John Kelsay	2016 - James Kimbrell
1970 - Melvin Ernest Stern	2002 - Gary Taylor	

Recent Fulbright Scholars to Serve on Staff at Florida State University:

2014-15 - Anuj Srivastava, Statistics	2015-16 - Jean Munn, Social Work
2014-15 - Jonathan Adams, Communication	2015-16 - Giray Okten, Mathematics
2014-15 - John Corrigan, Religion	2015-16 - Rodney Roberts, Electrical Engineering
2015-16 - Piyush Kumar, Computer Science	2015-16 - Carol Weissert, Political Science
2015-16 - Owen Mundy, Arts	2015-16 - Margaret Wright-Cleveland, Literature

2003 - Thomas Joiner

Source: Office of Institutional Research; Office of Faculty Recognition

1974 - Bertram H. Davis