# Governing Boards - State University System

#### State Board of Education

The mission of the Board of Education is to increase the proficiency of all students within one seamless, efficient system, by providing them with the opportunity to expand their knowledge and skills through learning opportunities and research valued by students, parents, and communities, and to maintain an accountability system that measures student progress toward the following goals: highest student achievement, seamless articulation and maximum access, skilled workforce and economic development, and quality efficient services. The eight-member Board, which consists of seven appointed members, plus the automatic inclusion of the Commissioner of Education, are:

Marva Johnson (Chair)

John R. Padget (Vice Chair)

Pam Stewart (Commissioner of Education)

Gary Chartrand

Winter Garden

Key West

Tallahassee

Ponte Vedra Bes

Gary Chartrand Ponte Vedra Beach Tom Grady Naples Rebecca Fishman Lipsey Aventura

Rebecca Fishman Lipsey Aventura
Michael Olenick Palm City
Andy Tuck Sebring

Online Resource: the website for the Florida Department of Education can be accessed online at: <a href="http://www.fldoe.org/">http://www.fldoe.org/</a>

## Florida Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is comprised of seventeen members, fourteen of whom are appointed by the Florida Governor and confirmed by the Florida Senate for a term of seven years. The remaining members include the Chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates, the Commissioner of Education, and the Chair of the Florida Student Association. The Board oversees the operation and management of the Florida public university system's twelve institutions.

The Board of Governors are:

Thomas G. Kuntz (Chair) Ned C. Lautenbach (Vice Chair)

Pam Stewart (Commissioner of Education)

Kathy Robinson (Chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates of Florida) University of North Florida

Jacob Hebert (Chair of the Florida Student Association)

Richard A. Beard III Dean Colson Daniel Doyle, Jr. Patricia Frost

H. Wayne Huizenga, Jr. Darlene L. Jordan

Alan Levine Wendy Link

Edward Morton Norman D. Tripp

Fernando J. Valverde

14th appointed position currently vacant

Tallahassee University of North Florida University of West Florida

Winter Park

Naples

Tampa
Coral Gables
Tampa
Miami Beach
West Palm Beach
Palm Beach
Naples

West Palm Beach

Naples

Fort Lauderdale

Miami

Online Resource: the website for the Florida Board of Governors can be accessed online at: <a href="http://www.flbog.org/">http://www.flbog.org/</a>

# Chancellor of Florida's Colleges and Universities

### Marshall Criser III

Marshall Criser III is chancellor of the State University System of Florida. He is the former president of AT&T Florida and a longtime education leader in the state. He took office as chancellor in January of 2014. Criser is in his fourth year as the Florida House Speaker's appointee to the Higher Education Coordinating Council, a role he began as a representative of the business community and continues as chancellor. He is a member of the Scripps Research Institute Board of Trustees in California and the Florida Council of 100, where he is a former chair.

Online Resource: Read more about Marshall Criser III online at: <a href="http://www.flbog.org/about/chancellor/bio.php">http://www.flbog.org/about/chancellor/bio.php</a>