Eminent Scholar Chairs

Eminent Scholar Chairs have been established to attract outstanding faculty to the Florida State University to provide excellence in teaching and research in a designated scholarly field. These Chairs are established through contributions from the private sector and matching funds from the State of Florida. As of July 2017, Florida State University had the following Eminent Scholar Chairs.

	ŭ	
Eminent Scholar Chair	<u>Department</u>	Person Filling Chair
Ada-Belle Winthrop-King in French	Modern Languages	Martin Munro
Bank of America in Finance (formerly Barnett Bank)	Finance	James Ang
Ben Weider in Napoleonic and French Revolutionary Studies	History	Rafe Blaufarb
Burt Reynolds in Regional and Professional Theatre	Theatre	Visiting - Heather Provost
Charlotte Edwards Maguire, M.D. Endowed Chair in Geriatrics	Medicine	Ken Brummel-Smith
Curtis Mayes Orpheus Chair in Musicology	Music	Denise Von Glahn
DeVoe L. Moore & Family for the Study of Critical Issues in		
Economic Policy and Government	Economics/Social Sciences	Keith Ihlanfeldt
Don Fuqua in Engineering and Science	Mechanical Engineering	Farrukh Alvi
Edward Ball in International Law	Law	Frederick Abbott
Embarq in Engineering	Electrical & Computer Engineering	Jim Zheng
Eminent Scholar Chair in Family & Child Sciences	Family & Child Sciences/Human Sciences	Francis D. Fincham
Fannie Wilson Smith in Banking	Finance	David Humphrey
Francis Eppes Eminent Scholar	Psychology	Roy Baumeister
Frank & Yolonde Fowler in Biological Sciences	Biological Sciences	Peter Frasere
FSCW / Conradi Memorial Eminent Scholar	Psychology	Karl Anders Ericsson
George R. Langford Family in Arts and Sciences	Classics	Visiting - Susan Rotroff
Gus A. Stavros in Economic Education	Economics/Education	James D. Gwartney
Harold & Barbara Chastain in Real Estate	Risk Mgmt/Insur., Real Estate & Bus. Law	Visiting – G. Stacy Sirmans
Haywood & Betty Taylor in Business Administration	Management	Pamela L. Perrewe
Jerry Collins in Public Administration	Public Administration & Policy	Richard Feiock
Jim and Betty Ann Rodgers in Medicine	Biomedical Sciences/Medicine	Pradeep Bhide
John & Hallie Quinn for Renewal of American Heritage		
and American Free Enterprise	Social Sciences/Economics	R. Mark Isaac
John R. Kerr in Marketing	Marketing	Joe Cronin
LeRoy Collins in Civic Education and Political Science	Political Science	Carol Weissert
Lucille P. and Elbert B. Shelfer in Music	Music	Multiple (17)
Marcus Bailey and Betty Graves Shelfer in Music Theatre	Music/Music Theatre	Douglas Fisher
Maximillian E. and Marion O. Hoffman in Theatre	Theatre	Kevin Covert
Patty Hill Smith in Finance	Finance	Yingmei Cheng
Payne H. and Charlotte Hodges Midyette in Insurance	Risk Mgmt/Insur., Real Estate & Bus. Law	Patricia Born
Pearl S. Tyner Distinguished Professor	Dance	Gerri Houlihan
Reubin O'D. Askew in Florida Government and Politics	Public Administration & Policy	Frances Berr
Richard W. Ervin in Law	Law	Amit Agarwal
Rod and Hope Brim in Economics	Economics	David A. Macpherson
Ronald and Carolyn Hobbs in Statistics	Statistics	Deb Sinha
Sir M. James Lighthill in Mathematics & Computational Science	Mathematics	Mohammed Hussaini
Syde P. Deeb in Political Science	Political Science	William D. Berry
Thomas L. Williams, Jr. in Information & Management Sciences	Management Information Systems	Bruce Lamont
Tobias Simon Chair in Public Law	Law	Fernando Teson
University Eminent Scholar Chair in Engineering	Engineering	Lou Cattafesta
William H. & Lucyle T. Werkmeister in Philosophy	Philosophy	Alfred Mele
William H. & Lucyle T. Werkmeister in Philosophy	Philosophy	Michael Ruse
William R. & Lenore Mote in Fisheries Ecology & Enhancement	Biological Science	Pete Peterson Visiting - Peter Edmunds
William R. & Lenore Mote in Marine Biology	Biological Science Communication	John Mayo
Unnamed Chair Unnamed Chair	Communication	Marilyn Young
Unnamed Chair	Communication	, .
Unnamed Chair	Information/Library Science	Ed Worting Ronald Blazek
Unnamed Chair	Information/Library Science	Thomas Hart
Unnamed Chair	Information/Library Science	Jane Robbins
Wiley and Lucilla Housewright in Music	Music	Rotating
		S
Bernard F. Sliger in Engineering Lov S. Links in Community & Organizational Change	Engineering	Vacant
Joy S. Jinks in Community & Organizational Change	Urban and Regional Planning	Vacant
Mildred and Claude Pepper in Social Gerontology Mine Le Poysell in Neuropayander & Neurological Sciences	Sociology/Aging	Vacant
Mina Jo Powell in Neuromuscular & Neurological Sciences	Medicine	Vacant
SunTrust in Trust and Investment Management	Finance	Vacant
University Eminent Scholar Chair Vincent V. & Acetha Thurshy	NHMFL Viewal Arts & Dance	Vacant

Visual Arts & Dance

Vincent V. & Agatha Thursby

Vacant