# **Faculty Characteristics and Citations**

- Of 1,883.9 filled FTE faculty positions (including College of Medicine), 28.7% hold the rank of Professor, 17.3% are Associate Professors, 16.5% are Assistant Professors, and 37.5% are other faculty.
- The median age for tenured faculty is 57; the eldest of these is 81, the youngest is 35. The median age for tenure-earning faculty is 38; the eldest of these is 79, the youngest is 25. 93% of instructional faculty hold a doctoral, professional, or terminal degree.
- A total of 1,974 full-time (1,182 men and 792 women) and 422 part-time (206 men and 216 women) comprise Florida State University's staff whose primary responsibility is instruction, research and/or public service. Of the full-time staff, minorities make up 21.3% of these staff members. 69.3% are white and 9.4% are non-resident aliens.
- Ellen T. Zwilich (Music, 1983) and Robert Olen Butler (Fiction, 1993) are Pulitzer Prize winners on staff at Florida State University.

## Members of the National Academy of Sciences to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Lloyd M. Beidler, Biological Science Michael Kasha, Chemistry Donald L. Caspar, Biological Science (Emeritus) Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry Robert Sanderson Mulliken, Chemical Physics Paul A. M. Dirac, Physics Zachary Fisk, Physics J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics (Emeritus) Lev P. Gor'kov, Physics Melvin E. Stern, Oceanography Laura Greene, Physics (currently on staff) J. Herbert Taylor, Biological Science Louis N. Howard, Mathematics (Emeritus)

### Members of the National Academy of Engineering to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

David Larbalestier, Superconducting Materials (currently on staff) Simon Ostrach, Engineering Thomas Lipo, Engineering (currently on staff)

# Members of the National Academy of Medicine to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Jill Quadagno, Gerontology (Emeritus) Norman Anderson (currently on staff)

## Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Roy Baumeister, Psychology (currently on staff) Simon Ostrach, Engineering Lloyd M. Beidler, Biological Science J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics (Emeritus) Donald L. Caspar, Biological Science (Emeritus) Melvin E. Stern, Oceanography Zachary Fisk, Physics Joe Travis, Biological Science (currently on staff)

Louis N. Howard, Mathematics (Emeritus) Ellen T. Zwilich, Music (currently on staff) Frances James, Biological Science (Emeritus) Lev Gor'kov - Foreign Honorary, Physics (currently on staff)

Greg Boebinger, NHMFL (currently on staff)

Michael Kasha, Chemistry Alan Marshall, Chemistry (currently on staff)

#### Nobel Laureates to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Konrad E. Bloch, Human Sciences Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry James M. Buchanan, Economics Robert Sanderson Mulliken, Chemical Physics Paul A. M. Dirac, Physics J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics (Emeritus)

## John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship Award Winners to Serve on Staff at Florida State University:

1950 - Michael Kasha	1980 - Ellen T. Zwilich	2003 - David Kirby
1955 - Raymond K. Sheline	1983 - Michael Ruse	2005 - Dale A. Olsen
1957 - Orville Goodwin Harrold, Jr.	1993 - Robert Olen Butler	2005 - Mark Wingate
1958 - François Bucher	1994 - Jill Quadagno	2009 - Jawole Willa Jo Zollar
1961 - Louis N. Howard	1994 - Donald L. D. Caspar	2010 - Barbara Hamby
1961 - Arthur Deshaies	1999 - Kathleen M. Erndl	2010 - Ladislav Kubik
1964 - Bruno Linder	2000 - Richard L. Greaves	2013 - Bryan Cuevas
1966 - J. Robert Schrieffer	2002 - John Kelsay	2016 - James Kimbrell
1970 - Melvin Ernest Stern	2002 - Gary Taylor	2017 - Antonio Mendez Esparza
1974 - Bertram H. Davis	2003 - Thomas Joiner	

#### Recent Fulbright Scholars to Serve on Staff at Florida State University:

2017-18 - Valliere T. Richard Auzenne, College of Motion Picture Arts	2018-19 - Joseph B Schlenoff, Chemistry
2017-18 - Machelle Denine Madsen Thompson, College of Social Work	2018-19 - Iris Angelika Junglas, College of Business
2017-18 - Bruce R Locke, Chemical Engineering	2018-19 - Christopher J Coutts, Urb. and Reg. Planning
2017-18 - Bruce T Lamont, Business Administration	2018-19 - Katarzyna Bugaj, College of Music
2017-18 - Ming Cui, Family and Child Sciences	2018-19 - Anne E Barrett, Sociology
2018-19 - Micah Lee Vandegrift, University Libraries	2018-19 - Igor V Alabugin, Chemistry

Source: Office of Institutional Research; Office of Faculty Recognition