State Board of Education

The mission of the Board of Education is to increase the proficiency of all students within one seamless, efficient system, by providing them with the opportunity to expand their knowledge and skills through learning opportunities and research valued by students, parents, and communities, and to maintain an accountability system that measures student progress toward the following goals: highest student achievement, seamless articulation and maximum access, skilled workforce and economic development, and quality efficient services. The eight-member Board, which consists of seven appointed members, plus the automatic inclusion of the Commissioner of Education, are:

Andy Tuck (Chair)	Winter Garden
Marva Johnson (Vice Chair)	Sebring
Richard Corcoran (Commissioner of Education)	Tallahassee
Ben Gibson	Tallahassee
Tom Grady	Naples
Michael Olenick	Palm City
Joe York	Ponte Vedra Beach

Online Resource: the website for the Florida Department of Education can be accessed online at: <u>http://www.fldoe.org/</u>

Florida Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is comprised of seventeen members, fourteen of whom are appointed by the Florida Governor and confirmed by the Florida Senate for a term of seven years. The remaining members include the Chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates, the Commissioner of Education, and the Chair of the Florida Student Association. The Board oversees the operation and management of the Florida public university system's twelve institutions.

The Board of Governors are:

Ned C. Lautenbach (Chair) Sydney Kitson (Vice Chair)	Naples West Palm Beach
Richard Corcoran (Commissioner of Education)	Tallahassee
Shawn Felton (Chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates of Florida)	Fort Myers
Zenani Johnson (Student Representative)	University of West Florida
Patricia Frost	Miami Beach
H. Wayne Huizenga, Jr.	West Palm Beach
Darlene L. Jordan	Palm Beach
Alan M. Levine	Naples
Edward A. Morton	Naples
Norman D. Tripp	Fort Lauderdale
Tim Cerio	Tallahassee
Brian Lamb	Tampa
Charlie Lydecker	Daytona Beach
Steven Scott	Palm Beach
Eric Silagy	Juno Beach
Kent Stermon	Jacksonville

Online Resource: the website for the Florida Board of Governors can be accessed online at: <u>http://www.flbog.org/</u>

Chancellor of Florida's Colleges and Universities

Marshall Criser III

Marshall Criser III is chancellor of the State University System of Florida. He is the former president of AT&T Florida and a longtime education leader in the state. He took office as chancellor in January of 2014. Criser is in his fifth year as the Florida House Speaker's appointee to the Higher Education Coordinating Council, a role he began as a representative of the business community and continues as chancellor. He is a member of the Scripps Research Institute Board of Trustees in California and the Florida Council of 100, where he is a former chair.

Online Resource: Read more about Marshall Criser III online at: <u>http://www.flbog.edu/board/office/chancellor/bio.php</u>