Faculty Senate

The nature of faculty involvement in the governance system of Florida State University is set forth in the Constitution of the University, which designates the Faculty Senate as the basic legislative body of the institution. This structure has been in place since May 1931, when an amendment to the institution's constitution establishing the Senate was adopted by the general faculty and approved by the Board of Control of the state. A number of major amendments have been made since that time relating to elections, committees, and other matters. Prior to 1974 the President of the University was the presiding officer of the Senate, but an amendment that year changed the procedure to stipulate that the Senate elect annually its own President from the elected Senators comprising the body.

The Faculty Senate is composed of at least one elected representative from each college and school and one representative each from the Librarians and the Developmental Research School. Except for the two latter representatives, only full-time instructors, assistant professors, associate professors, and professors are eligible for representation in and election to the Senate. Senators serve two-year terms which begin at the April meeting of the Senate, at which time the President of the Senate is elected. The Steering Committee is composed of seven members elected by the voting members of the Senate to staggered two-year terms; the President of the Senate serves as chair of the committee.

The Faculty Senate formulates measures for maintaining a comprehensive educational policy and for maximum use of the University's intellectual resources. It determines and defines University-wide policies on academic matters, including Liberal Studies policy, admission, grading standards, and requirements for the awarding of degrees. The Senate may also formulate opinions on any subject of interest to the University and adopt resolutions thereon.

Presidents of the Faculty Senate

Wayne C. Minnick	1973-74	Alan Mabe	1990-92
Fred L. Standley	1974-75	Fred Leysieffer	1992-94
Wayne C. Minnick	1975-76	Marilyn Young	1994-96
James E. Pitts	1976-77	Marie Cowart	1996-98
Gregory R. Choppin	1977-78	Robley Light	1998-00
James É. Pitts	1978-79	Karen Laughlin	2000-02
Clifford K. Madsen	1979-80	Valliere Richard Auzenne	2002-05
Fred L. Standley	1980-81	James Cobbe	2005-07
Katherine B. Hoffman	1981-82	Jayne Standley	2007-09
H. Frederick Kreimer	1982-83	Eric C. Walker	2009-11
Steve Edwards	1983-85	Sandra Lewis	2011-13
*H. Frederick Kriemer	1984-85	Gary Tyson	2013-15
Merrill B. Hintikka	1985-87	Susan Fiorito	2015-17
**James E. Pitts	1987-88	Todd Adams	2017-19
Leo Sandon	1988-90	Kristine Harper	2019-

- * Elected Senate President for the remainder of Dr. Edwards' term when Edwards became the Dean of the Faculties.
- ** After the death of Dr. Hintikka on January 1, 1987, Dr. Pitts was authorized to fulfill functions of the President for the remainder of the term. Dr. Pitts was elected President for the 1987-88 term.

2019-2020 Steering Committee

Kristine Harper (President)
Eric Chicken (Vice Chair)
Bridgett Birmingham
Todd Adams
Petra Doan
Charles Hofacker
Nancy Rogers
Erin Ryan

Arts and Sciences Arts and Sciences University Libraries Arts and Sciences Social Sciences Business Music Law

Online Resource: The Faculty Senate's website can be accessed online at: http://facsenate.fsu.edu/